Wednesday , 12 August 2020 Updates
You are here: Home / General / VEDIC ASTROLOGY


0 votes, 0.00 avg. rating (0% score)

Mr Bansal explains in simple terms the basic of astrology for common man


In ancient times, when our ‘Rishis’ and learned man looked into the sky , they spotted the different planets against the back-drop of stars and constellations and with divine knowledge, formulated the science of “Jyotish” or Vedic  Astrology; to give predictions of Past/Present/ Future to all humans that have taken birth on Earth.

It is believed that ‘MahaRishi Bhrigu’ was the first human to learn this Divine Science from ‘MahaLaxmi’-the Goddess of Wealth. However, ‘MahaRishi Parashar’ is considered to be the father of modern Vedic Astrology and his work known as “Brihat Parashar Hora Shastra” is the main book on whose principles all Modern Astrological Predictions are based.

Now we understand, how the horoscope of a ‘native’ (person) is casted as per Vedic Astrology. In Ancient times, The sages and Rishis mapped  the entire sky(as seen from Earth) in form of a “Janam Kundli” or horoscope, with the help of “Jyotish “ – at the exact time of birth of a child. The exact time of birth is considered to be the time, when the child’s ‘Umbilical Cord’ is cut. Some astrologers also consider the first cry of the new born child to be the actual time of birth; as at that moment the child takes first breath (Shwaans), in this world.

Then this “Janam Kundli” is interpreted to give predictions for the entire life of the child, that has taken birth in this world.

On next page , the above chart shows the view of the sky as seen with help of a telescope at night. The constellations of Gemini/Cancer/Leo can be seen in it. The ‘Constellation’ is a group of stars perceived as a Figure or Design. There are 12 “Set of Stars” or “Constellations”, also known as Zodiac Signs; which is used in Predictive Astrology. The planets are closer in distance from Earth and Constellations are very far-far away; so the planets are mapped in backdrop of these Constellations/Zodiac Signs.


Explanation of the above Horoscope :-

  1. Roman Numerals – is the numbering of ‘Houses’ from 1st to 12th .
  2. Numbering– 1 to 12 are the Zodiac Signs as under :-
    1. 1 = Aries
    2. 2 = Taurus
    3. 3 = Gemini
    4. 4 = Cancer
    5. 5 = Leo
    6. 6 = Virgo
    7. 7 = Libra
    8. 8 = Scorpio
    9. 9 = Sagittarius
    10. 10 = Capricorn
    11. 11 = Aquarius
    12. 12 = Pisces

So, as Number – ‘7’ is seen in 1st House; it indicates that “Libra” is the Ascendant/Lagna in this Horoscope.

  1. Planets – There are 9 Planets in total, namely, Sun/Moon/Mars/Jupiter/Mercury/Venus/Saturn/Rahu & Ketu.

The planets are placed in each of the House and Zodiac Sign as per their respective Planetary Position, as seen from the Earth; and it changes every Second/minute/day/month/year….

For Example, in above Horoscope, The Planet “Saturn” is in House No. 1 and in Zodiac Sign No. 7; So, it is interpreted that Saturn is in Libra in 1st House; similarly Sun and Mercury is in 10th House, in Cancer.

Now let us see the predictive side of the horoscope. As seen in above sample horoscope there are 12 divisions of main chart, each division known as  “House” and there are 12 Zodiac Signs that rule these Houses. Each Zodiac Sign rules one ‘House’. Most of us are familiar with Zodiac Signs as we read in weekly newspaper. In ‘Jyotish’ , all these houses are numbered from 1 to 12 and are called as 1st House, 2nd House , 10th House and so on.

Any Zodiac sign could be having any of the House ownership, as per planetary placement, at the time of Birth. Permutations and Combinations of all these factors( Namely -Houses/Zodiac Sign/Planet) are taken into account to give a prediction to a Native.

The interesting thing to note here is that, in Vedic Astrology, unlike Astronomy, Sun/Moon are considered Planets and Earth is not considered to be a Planet ; and in addition there are “Rahu” and “Ketu” – 2 imaginary planets which are called “Shadow planets”.

Rahu and Ketu denote the two points of intersection of the paths of the Sun and the Moon as they move around the celestial sphere. Therefore, Rahu and Ketu are respectively called the north and the south lunar nodes. The fact that eclipses occur when Sun and Moon are at one of these points gives rise to the myth of the swallowing of the Sun.

The exact positions of all these planets, at any given time, can be taken from NASA software which can give planetary positions for any period – 10000 years past or future. All new ‘Jyotish’ software’s available in India are using NASA software for mathematical calculations.

(For trial purposes, a free Vedic Astrology program could be downloaded from  ).

Now, in this article, let us discuss first factor – “HOUSES”; what each House signify /represents, for use in  Predictive Astrology. The significations of each House are given in below  Horoscope. The first House is marked as “1”, Second House as “2” …and so on in anti-clock wise to reach “12th” House :-

By Ashish Bansal

0 votes, 0.00 avg. rating (0% score)

About bansala


One comment

  1. Although most cultural systems of astrology share common roots in ancient philosophies that influenced each other, many have unique methodologies which differ from those developed in the West.-Natalya

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Scroll To Top