Tuesday , 9 August 2022
indians4africa.com Updates
You are here: Home / Countries Information / African Countries / DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC OF THE CONGO


The Democratic Republic of the Congo is a former Belgian colony. It is a central African country with a small shoreline on the Atlantic coastline. The country is a member of the Southern African Development Community. The Democratic Republic of the Congo borders Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, Zambia, Angola,  Central African Republic, Republic of the Congo and is separated from Tanzania by Lake Tanganyika on the East.

The Congo has suffered may years of civil war, a war that is the world’s deadliest conflict since World War II killing around 5.4 million people. The Congo is the world’s largest producer of cobalt ore and is a major producer of industrial diamonds and copper. Smuggling of tantalum & tin ores has helped fuel the war in the Eastern Congo. Katanga Mining Limited, a London-based company, owns the Luilu Metallurgical Plant, which has a capacity of 175,000 tonnes of copper and 8,000 tonnes of cobalt per year, making it the largest cobalt refinery in the world. After a major rehabilitation program, the company restarted copper production in December 2007 and cobalt production in May 2008

Country Population: 62,600,000
Country Capital: Kinshasa
Country Currency: Congolese franc

Scroll To Top